Best GHK-Cu balm: six compared, label by label
Our pick for face and body is koppā's GHK-Cu Balm Stick, one of only two balms on this list that state a GHK-Cu percentage and the only one with neither tallow nor water in the formula. We make it, so it's first and we say so. The other five are the balms the search engines and AI assistants most often recommend instead, checked on their own listings.

- 0.5% GHK-Cu, stated
- Water-free, no tallow
- Fragrance-free, silicone-free
- No paid placements
- Free US shipping over US$100
How do you choose a GHK-Cu balm?
Two questions sort the market. Does the label state a GHK-Cu percentage? Most balms sold on marketplaces do not. And what is the base? Most GHK-Cu balms are whipped beef tallow with manuka honey, sold in a jar or tin; koppā's is a plant-oil and candelilla-wax stick with no water, which is also why it needs no preservative.
A balm is a finishing step, not a delivery system. The oils and wax slow water loss from the skin's surface; GHK-Cu is there for the look of firmer, smoother skin over time. If you want the active across the whole face, a serum does that job; a balm is for the neck, hands, elbows, knees, lips and the dry patches a serum will not stay on.
One of two balms here with a percentage on the label
The only balm here with none of the three
GHK-Cu plus eight supporting peptides
More than twice a typical 9 g balm stick
GHK-Cu balms and sticks, side by side
We make koppā, so it's first and we say so. No brand paid to be here, and everything about the other five comes from their own listings on 7 October 2026.
Side by side
Swipe to compare| Balm |
koppā
GHK-Cu Balm Stick
Our pick | HealthyDerm Copper Peptide Whipped Tallow Honey Balm with Methylene Blue Tallow, % not stated | Happy Soul Organics Tallow Balm GHK-Cu Copper Peptide Tallow, % not stated | Celvara Labs GHK-Cu Copper Renewal Balm States 0.5% GHK-Cu | Peptide Sticks Collagen + Copper Stick Pre-order, unreleased | Medicube PDRN Pink Collagen Volume Multi Balm Multi-balm, trace copper peptide |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GHK-Cu, as stated | 0.5% GHK-Cu + 8 peptides | Not stated | Not stated | 0.5% GHK-Cu | Not stated | Not stated; 40th of 57 ingredients |
| Size | 20 g | Not stated | 2 oz or 4 oz | 50 ml | 15 g | Not stated on medicube.us |
| Price | $45 | $30 | $24 or $40 | $44.99 | $36 | $22 |
| GHK-Cu % on the label | 0.5% | Not stated | Not stated | 0.5% | Not stated | Not stated |
| Base | Olive, coconut and jojoba oils, candelilla wax, squalane, meadowfoam | Grass-fed beef tallow, manuka honey, jojoba | Grass-fed beef tallow, manuka honey | 60% grass-fed tallow, manuka honey, jojoba (no full ingredient list) | No ingredient list published | Waxes and esters; water 24th of 57 |
| Water-free | Not stated | Claimed | no | |||
| Fragrance-free, per the brand | Not stated | Stated, but four flower and fruit oils listed | ||||
| Peptides named on the label | 9, every one named | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Peptide with a published human trial | Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 (93 women, 12 weeks) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Shop | Shop, $45 |
Other brands' wording, sizes and prices are as listed on their own sites on 7 October 2026, before any promotion. "Not stated" means the listing does not say, not that the answer is no. Where a brand publishes no full ingredient list, the base is what the listing names. koppā's price updates live.
-
01


Our pickkoppāGHK-Cu Balm Stick
- GHK-Cu, as stated
- 0.5% GHK-Cu + 8 peptides
- Size
- 20 g
- Price
- $45
- Best for
- Face and body, no tallow, fits a pocket
0.5% GHK-Cu with eight more peptides in a water-free balm that glides on and leaves a matte finish. Twist it up and put it exactly where you want it: neck, jaw, hands, elbows, knees, lips, the sides of the eyes. No dropper, no jar, no fingers.
Why it's our pick
- A stated GHK-Cu percentage, which most balms do not give
- Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, the peptide with a 93-woman, 12-week published trial
- Nine peptides, every one named on the label
- No tallow, no water, no synthetic fragrance, no silicones
- A base chosen around the peptide: jojoba (a liquid wax), saturated squalane, candelilla wax, vitamin E
- 20 g, more than twice a typical 9 g stick
- A solid, so it travels and clears airport security
How to use it
- One light pass; skin warmth softens it
- After serum and moisturiser on the face; alone on hands and body
- Around the eyes and lips is fine
- Keep out of direct sun and hot cars
-
02Tallow, % not stated
HealthyDermCopper Peptide Whipped Tallow Honey Balm with Methylene Blue
- GHK-Cu, as stated
- Not stated
- Size
- Not stated
- Price
- $30
- Best for
- A tallow balm with methylene blue
A seven-ingredient whipped tallow balm with manuka honey, jojoba oil and methylene blue. The listing names copper peptide but gives no percentage, and gives no size.
healthyderm.comWorth knowing
- $30, size not stated
- "No fragrance, no preservatives, no essential oils", per the brand
- Sold in a jar
-
03Tallow, % not stated
Happy Soul OrganicsTallow Balm GHK-Cu Copper Peptide
- GHK-Cu, as stated
- Not stated
- Size
- 2 oz or 4 oz
- Price
- $24 or $40
- Best for
- A three-ingredient tallow balm
Three ingredients: grass-fed beef tallow, GHK-Cu copper peptides and raw manuka honey. No percentage is stated. Sold unscented or with peppermint essential oil.
happysoulorganics.comWorth knowing
- 2 oz $24, 4 oz $40
- Unscented or peppermint variants
- Stainless-steel tin
-
04States 0.5% GHK-Cu
Celvara LabsGHK-Cu Copper Renewal Balm
- GHK-Cu, as stated
- 0.5% GHK-Cu
- Size
- 50 ml
- Price
- $44.99
- Best for
- A tallow balm that states its percentage
The other balm here that states a GHK-Cu percentage: 0.5%, in a 60% grass-fed tallow base with 2% niacinamide and 5% dimethyl isosorbide, per the brand. No full ingredient list is published on the page we checked.
celvaralabs.comWorth knowing
- 50 ml for $44.99
- "Fragrance-free", per the brand
- Glass jar
-
05Pre-order, unreleased
Peptide SticksCollagen + Copper Stick
- GHK-Cu, as stated
- Not stated
- Size
- 15 g
- Price
- $36
- Best for
- A stick format, once it ships
A 15 g solid stick on pre-order, naming Matrixyl 3000, GHK-Cu, collagen peptides, hyaluronic acid and panthenol. The brand says the full ingredient list goes out before anything ships, so every formula claim is provisional.
peptidesticks.comWorth knowing
- $36 on pre-order, no ship date
- "No added fragrance, dyes, essential oils", per the brand
- "Water free formula", per the brand
-
06Multi-balm, trace copper peptide
MedicubePDRN Pink Collagen Volume Multi Balm
- GHK-Cu, as stated
- Not stated; 40th of 57 ingredients
- Size
- Not stated on medicube.us
- Price
- $22
- Best for
- A multi-balm with many actives
A twist-up multi-balm built around PDRN and collagen. Copper Tripeptide-1 appears 40th in a 57-ingredient list, after water, caffeine, collagen and retinol, so it is a trace ingredient here rather than the active.
medicube.usWorth knowing
- $22, size not stated on the US site
- Claims "free from artificial colorants and fragrance" but lists geranium, ylang-ylang, bergamot and rose oils
- Showed as sold out when checked
Five things to check on a GHK-Cu balm
-
01
Look for a stated percentage
Most GHK-Cu balms do not give one. If the label says 0.5% you know what you are buying; "copper peptide" with no number tells you nothing about the dose.
-
02
Check the base
Beef tallow, plant oils and waxes, or a water-based cream labelled as a balm. Tallow balms are rich and can carry a scent of their own; a plant-oil stick is lighter and matte. Neither is better, but you should know which you are getting.
-
03
Water-free or not?
A water-free balm needs no preservative system and is a solid, so it travels. A balm with water in it is closer to a cream and needs preservatives. Look for Aqua or Water in the ingredient list.
-
04
Fragrance and essential oils
"Fragrance-free" on a label does not always mean free of essential oils; check the ingredient list for flower and fruit oils if your skin reacts to them.
-
05
Format: jar, tin or stick
A jar or tin means fingers; a stick means a direct swipe. For hands, elbows, knees and travel the stick is the practical choice. For a full-face layer, a cream is the better tool and none of these balms replaces one.
Copper peptide products are cosmetics. None of the products here, ours included, treats or prevents any skin condition.
Why the koppā balm has no tallow, and what its base is instead
Most GHK-Cu balms on the market are whipped beef tallow with manuka honey. koppā's is plant oils and candelilla wax. That is a formulation choice with reasons, and the reasons are checkable.
GHK-Cu breaks down under oxidising stress
In a preformulation study GHK-Cu stayed intact in solutions between pH 4.5 and 7.4 and broke down under alkaline and oxidising stress7. So the base a balm puts the peptide in is not neutral: a fat that oxidises as it ages is an oxidising environment for whatever is dissolved in it. koppā's base was chosen to support peptide stability, with vitamin E (tocopherol) in the formula as an antioxidant, and the finished balm has been tested for hydration and ingredient stability.
Why jojoba, squalane and candelilla wax
Jojoba is not a triglyceride oil but a liquid wax: about 98% wax esters10. In a 60-day test at 60 °C it was the most stable against autoxidation of the three oils compared, with no rise in acid value and the lowest peroxide values, while olive oil and squalene oxidised8. koppā's balm is 15% jojoba. Squalane, 10% of the balm, is the fully saturated form of squalene, with no double bonds left to form peroxides. Candelilla wax gives the stick its structure without beeswax.
Why not tallow
Three things. First, tallow is often cited as comedogenic, meaning likely to clog pores, and in the rabbit-ear model that underpins comedogenicity testing, oleic acid, tallow's main unsaturated fatty acid, produced comedones in both its native and its peroxidised form9. Second, most tallow balms add manuka honey, which brings water and sugars into an otherwise water-free fat; whether that needs a preservative is a question the listings here do not answer. Third, it is an animal fat; the koppā balm lists no animal-derived ingredient.
Nine named peptides, one stated percentage
Of the six balms here, koppā's and Celvara's are the only two that state a GHK-Cu percentage, and koppā's is the only one that names every peptide in it: GHK-Cu at 0.5% plus eight more, including Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, tested in a 12-week double-blind study of 93 women6, and Acetyl Hexapeptide-85. A listing that says "copper peptide" with no percentage and no full ingredient list tells you neither how much is in it nor what else is.
A stick, not a jar
A twist-up stick exposes only the surface in use and goes straight onto the skin. A jar or tin is opened to the air and to fingers every time, and a whipped balm is scooped. For hands, elbows, knees, lips and the sides of the eyes, the stick is the practical format, and it travels as a solid.
How to read this. If you specifically want a tallow balm, Celvara states 0.5% GHK-Cu and is the one to look at; HealthyDerm and Happy Soul Organics state no percentage. If you want a copper peptide balm whose base was chosen around the peptide, with every ingredient named, no water, no animal fat and a stated 0.5%, that is koppā's balm stick, which we make.
Copper peptides, in a stick. No tallow.
0.5% GHK-Cu with eight more peptides in a water-free balm of olive, coconut and jojoba oils, candelilla wax, squalane and meadowfoam seed oil. Matte finish. Twist up, apply exactly where you want it, face or body. 20 g.
- 0.5% GHK-Cu plus eight peptides
- No tallow, no water, no preservatives
- Fragrance-free, silicone-free
- Free US shipping over US$100
Free US shipping over US$100. See all four products
Questions about choosing a GHK-Cu balm
What is the best GHK-Cu balm?
Start with the label. Of the six balms here, koppā's and Celvara's are the only two that state a GHK-Cu percentage, and koppā's is the only one with neither tallow nor water. If you specifically want a tallow balm, Celvara states its percentage and HealthyDerm and Happy Soul Organics do not.
Is a copper peptide balm good for the body?
Yes, for targeted areas. A balm is a concentrated, water-free layer for the parts of the body that dry out most: elbows, knees, heels, hands, cuticles and dry patches. koppā's 20 g stick states 0.5% GHK-Cu with eight more peptides and goes straight onto the spot, with no fingers in a jar. For moisturising large areas such as legs, arms or the torso, a body lotion covers more skin for the money; a balm is the targeted step, not a replacement for one.
Is there a GHK-Cu balm without tallow?
Yes. koppā's balm stick uses olive, coconut and jojoba oils, candelilla wax, squalane and meadowfoam seed oil, with no animal fat, no beeswax and no honey. Most GHK-Cu balms on marketplaces are whipped beef tallow.
Why doesn't koppā use tallow in its copper peptide balm?
Three reasons. Tallow is often cited as comedogenic, and oleic acid, its main unsaturated fatty acid, produced comedones in the rabbit-ear model in both native and peroxidised form9. Most tallow balms add honey, which brings water into a water-free fat. And it is an animal fat. koppā's base is 15% jojoba, a liquid wax that was the most autoxidation-stable of three oils tested at 60 °C8, 10% squalane, which has no double bonds to peroxidise, and candelilla wax, with vitamin E as an antioxidant, because GHK-Cu itself breaks down under oxidising stress7. The choice is about the peptide's environment, pores and what is on the label. The section above has each point with its study.
GHK-Cu balm or GHK-Cu serum: which should I use?
The serum is the delivery step: a stated 2% GHK-Cu in a water-light base applied across the face and neck. The balm is the targeted step: 0.5% GHK-Cu in a water-free base for the places a serum will not stay. Most people start with the serum; the balm is for hands, body and travel.
Can I use a GHK-Cu balm around my eyes or on my lips?
koppā's balm can be used on the lips and around the eyes. Other brands' guidance differs, so check the listing.
Does a balm stick melt in the heat?
A wax-and-oil stick softens in high heat, so keep it out of direct sun and hot cars. Normal daytime temperatures are fine, and as a solid it does not count toward the liquids allowance at airport security.
References
- 1.Pickart L, Vasquez-Soltero JM, Margolina A. GHK Peptide as a Natural Modulator of Multiple Cellular Pathways in Skin Regeneration. BioMed Research International. 2015;2015:648108. Read the paper
- 2.Maquart FX, Pickart L, Laurent M, Gillery P, Monboisse JC, Borel JP. Stimulation of collagen synthesis in fibroblast cultures by the tripeptide-copper complex glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine-Cu2+. FEBS Letters. 1988;238(2):343-346. Read the paper
- 3.Hostynek JJ, Dreher F, Maibach HI. Human skin retention and penetration of a copper tripeptide in vitro as function of skin layer towards anti-inflammatory therapy. Inflammation Research. 2010;59(11):983-988. Read the paper
- 4.Johnson W, Bergfeld WF, Belsito DV, et al. Safety Assessment of Tripeptide-1, Hexapeptide-12, Their Metal Salts and Fatty Acyl Derivatives, and Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7 as Used in Cosmetics. International Journal of Toxicology. 2018;37(3 suppl):90S-102S. Read the paper
- 5.Blanes-Mira C, Clemente J, Jodas G, et al. A synthetic hexapeptide (Argireline) with antiwrinkle activity. International Journal of Cosmetic Science. 2002;24(5):303-310. Read the paper
- 6.Robinson LR, Fitzgerald NC, Doughty DG, Dawes NC, Berge CA, Bissett DL. Topical palmitoyl pentapeptide provides improvement in photoaged human facial skin. International Journal of Cosmetic Science. 2005;27(3):155-160. Read the paper
- 7.Badenhorst T, Svirskis D, Wu Z. Physicochemical characterization of native glycyl-l-histidyl-l-lysine tripeptide for wound healing and anti-aging: a preformulation study for dermal delivery. Pharmaceutical Development and Technology. 2016;21(2):152-160. doi:10.3109/10837450.2014.979944. Read the paper
- 8.Tsuchimoto S, Sakai H, Fukui K. Oxidative Stability and Antioxidant Activity of Crude Jojoba Oil. BPB Reports. 2022;5(6):121-124. doi:10.1248/bpbreports.5.6_121. Read the paper
- 9.Motoyoshi K. Enhanced comedo formation in rabbit ear skin by squalene and oleic acid peroxides. British Journal of Dermatology. 1983;109(2):191-198. doi:10.1111/j.1365-2133.1983.tb07080.x. Read the paper
- 10.Gad HA, Roberts A, Hamzi SH, et al. Jojoba Oil: An Updated Comprehensive Review on Chemistry, Pharmaceutical Uses, and Toxicity. Polymers. 2021;13(11):1711. doi:10.3390/polym13111711. Read the paper
Start with the balm stick, or take the full Protocol.
Every koppā formula is fragrance-free and silicone-free, with the GHK-Cu percentage stated on the label.
Step 1, treat
koppā 2% GHK-Cu Copper Peptide SerumConcentrated peptides for firmer, smoother-looking skin.$75Shop
Step 2, nourish
koppā 0.5% GHK-Cu Copper Peptide Moisturizer (Capsule Cream)Capsule-released peptides for deep, lasting hydration.$70Shop
Step 3, seal · For this question
koppā 0.5% GHK-Cu Copper Peptide Face + Body Balm StickCollagen support and hydration, from face to body.$45Shop
All three, for less
koppā GHK-Cu Copper Peptide Skincare Routine SetYour complete peptide routine, for less.$175 Keep reading
Still choosing?
Ask us about any balm on this list, ours or not. If you're not sure a balm is the right format for you, we'll say so.
Page updated 7 October 2026

